Add a Necklace: Coordinating your Necklaces and Necklines

Hello everyone! I hope you had a good weekend. This week my regular series “Inspiration for Mondays” is on break, but I’m hoping that this post will have a similar effect. I’m actually thinking about rotating posts because soon most of my time will be devoted to studying. Of course, this time I’ll try my best to keep this blog alive. One of my options is to make 2-3 extensive posts a week; the other is to make more short posts (I don’t believe this is feasible for me). Anyone have suggestions or advice for this? It would be greatly appreciated.

So who doesn’t like a nice necklace? Well, actually, a lot of people. They can be uncomfortable, inconvenient, confusing. Many people forgo the necklaces, but it can be a fun and exciting thing for your outfit. I’m an advocate of freedom of fashion and believe that you can wear whatever you want (as long as you don’t disrupt the public peace or somehow put people/animals/things in danger), so I won’t call these rules but, rather, tips on coordinating your necklaces. And if you absolutely, don’t want to wear a necklace after reading this, that’s okay, too. In fact, there are necklines where necklaces are unnecessary such as tie-neck blouses, embellished collar tops, and deep cut/plunge necklines (because you want to show off your skin and assets, right?). Oh, and I’m aware that there are a lot more necklines, but my brain would probably melt if I did it all. Anyway, here are a few necklines and 3 necklaces I’ve chosen for each. As usual, images link to Polyvore for item details.

Necklaces & Necklines

So there you have it. Do you frequently wear a necklace or is it an accessory for those special occasions? Do you have any other styling tips for necklaces? Leave a comment and let me know, and, as always, thanks for reading. 

53 comments

  1. This is great inspiration. Especially because jewelry is one of the hardest things to style for me. So nice to see all of these options together to get the ideas flowing. xx
    Casey

    1. I don’t know if it can solve all your problems but I hope it does help. I mean, there are just so many options. If I were to list them all, there would be no end to it…the struggle continues. :P

  2. Yeah, I have a love hate relationship with them. I think as I’ve grown older I tend to go for simple pieces and more practical. Snooze, I know! Hahaha! I prefer long lengths, short necklaces I feel like they’re going to strangle me or something, probably a claustrophobia thing!

    SDMxx
    http://www.daringcoco.com

    1. I wear a lot of collar shirts so I’m frequently wearing shorter necklaces. Now that I think about it, it does feel uncomfortable at times. I do have a collection of long necklaces with charms and stuff. long charm necklaces used to be a thing so I’m hoping they become popular again.

    1. I sometimes get that feeling too. Things look amazing on other people and I feel like I have to have something but when the time comes to actually buy that item, the magic is all but gone. :(

  3. I’ve never realised how much of a difference a certain necklace can make to your look, I love how informative this post is, I love concise pinterest worthy content like this xx

Thank you for visiting. Your comments are very much appreciated and mean a lot to me.

