Friday Favorites: Black

Hello everyone! How are you? Fine Thank you.

Happy Friday! For the lack of posts this week (I did say that I was busy), I decided to make this post longer than usual. Now, if you’ve been following my blog, you know that I simply adore winter white and light, pastel colors. However, it’s not like I don’t wear black at all; a closet devoid of black is a sad closet. Black pieces have an special place in many fashionista’s closets and hearts, mine included. They’re quite versatile and easily stylish. And, of course, everyone needs some key black pieces in his or closet, right? The basics: a black t-shirt, blouse, pants, blazer, etc… And you can’t forget the little black dress. And since some black every now and then is also appreciated, today I’ll take a break from the light colors and talk a bit about black. Also, because it’s considered a taboo to wear black during the celebration of the Chinese/Vietnamese Lunar New Year, which is coming up, I had to get this out there. To start off, here’s some black pieces that I like:

Friday Favorites: Black

Here are just a few of the ways I would style black pieces. If I were to make this any longer, the disparity in length would be unfair to my post about winter white. Since I have many more ideas, I might feature them in my Monday series just to give you some more inspiration for styling black. This is, of course, down the line and might be for transitioning outfits into Spring. But more on that later.

1. A Pop of Color

Black and Cobalt Blue

One of the basic techniques for adding colors to a predominantly black outfit is to use the neutral color blue. This includes navy blue but also the more eye-catching pop of cobalt or electric blue. However, this could also easily be changed up with bright shades of red or yellow. Aren’t primary colors awesome?

2. Black and White

Black and White

Since I didn’t do White and Black last time, here’s an out fit that’s Black and White. It’s quite simple, but, to me, feels like it’s both classy and professional-looking while also looking casual and relaxed. My favorite of the three.

3. The Edgier Style

Black Outfit 2

I couldn’t stop thinking of the 90′s and early 2000′s while I was putting together this outfit. I can’t do a post about favorite black things without featuring something more laid-back cool and faux leather pants. Forgive me if this isn’t your cup of tea.

Do you own a lot of black items? How do you style them? Which of these outfits would you wear? Leave a comment and let me know, and thanks for visiting. And thank you for the lovely comments on my previous posts. It means a lot to me.

47 comments

  1. I love all of these! Black is so easy to wear and add different colours too. Love all the ones you’ve picked. Especially like the first outfit :) xx

    I’m having a giveaway on my blog and would love for you to enter :)

  2. I would love to wear each of the outfits you have created, they are all so stylish! I have a few black items in my closet, and especially many black pants and shirts. And I have to admit that my black skinny pants for sure the pants I wear most :) But I wear really seldom black in black mostly I mix it with white, grey or red but I like it also to wear it with blue.

    And thank you for your pleasant comment on my blog! I checked your blog and I like it <3 Of this cause I would like to follow you on gfc and/or bloglovin. It would be great if you come again to my blog to follow me – then I will follow you immediately back.

    xx from Bavaria/Germany, Rena

    http://www.dressedwithsoul.blogspot.de

  3. I LOVE this! I find the first two outfits especially are exactly my style! I love the navy pop of colour! I prefer darker colours in the winter contrary to the light/pastels that you go for!
    My friend is Half Chinese, Half Vietnamese and she way saying how it’s New Year soon, we might be heading down to China Town to celebrate and have some bubble tea!
    I hope you have a wonderful New Year!
    xoxo,

    berrybloomxo.blogspot.co.uk

  4. I really enjoyed this post especially as black is the closest colour to my heart when it comes to fashion choices! The quilted bag is my favourite pieces, so gorgeous <3 And the pair of leather jeans are always such a hard working wardrobe staple!

    Usually I pop a bright neon clutch or a bold statement necklace to add a pop of colour to an all black ensemble xo

    Sophie | soinspo

  5. are all amazing but the 2° set are my preferred!
    look absolutely beautiful
    I posted a new article, I’d love to know your opinion
    would you like to pass from my blog?
    tr3ndygirl.com
    kiss

  6. Great selection! I own too many black clothes, that’s for sure. I love styling black with cobalt of course, with red, with pink, practically with every bold color, though. I would definitely wear #1 and #2. Thank you so much for dropping by my place and leaving a comment. I have to agree with you, adding the belt was not one of my brightest ideas, lol, as soon as I saw the photos on my pc I knew it was wrong. But I learned something from it, NEVER add something to an item that isn’t suppose to be there. That coat has no belt, so it was not intend to be worn with a belt, so bad bad idea belting the coat. As you said it breaks the outfit in a weird place. I really appreciate your comment because it’s helpful and honest. We learn form constructive critic and our failures. So please keep telling me what’s wrong, that’s very important to me and much appreciated. OK to make a loooong comment short. Thx bunches honey, I really mean it.
    kisses
    Lenya
    FashionDreams&Lifestyle

Thank you for visiting. Your comments are very much appreciated and mean a lot to me.

